Sisterhood of the Traveling Car

Image

A few weekends ago, I was home for a visit in Phoenix. I almost witnessed an apocalyptic dust storm, ate real food, and lounged with my dogs. At about 10 o’clock, my mom knocked on my door and said that my sister was crying.

We went for a drive, circling the neighborhood like a pair of house pigeons. We talked about all of her insecurities and all of my own. We talked about the things that no one else, not even our best friends or our parents, seem to understand. If you drew a Venn Diagram of our insecurities, it would look a lot like an eclipse or maybe a coconut cream pie. We both love coconut.

I almost didn’t even want to go back home. I was so happy to know that I wasn’t alone in the things that I worry about.

Leave a Reply

